Students are referred to Kennedy Krieger school programs by the IEP teams of public school districts, which include the student's parent/guardian (and the student when appropriate). These teams refer students to non-public schools like the Kennedy Krieger school programs because they are the least restrictive environment in which the IEP can be implemented. These placements, which include transportation supplied by the district, are made at no cost to the student's family.

Because Kennedy Krieger school programs are day programs, districts place students with consideration of the time it takes to provide roundtrip transportation between home and school.

These are the districts in Maryland that placed students in Kennedy Krieger School Programs during the 2019-20 school year:

  • Anne Arundel County
  • Baltimore City
  • Baltimore County
  • Calvert County
  • Caroline County
  • Cecil County
  • Carroll County
  • Charles County
  • Frederick County
  • Harford County
  • Howard County
  • Montgomery County
  • Prince George's County
  • Queen Anne's County
  • St. Mary's County

The Kennedy Krieger School Programs also serve students from Pennsylvania, Washington, DC. and Virginia.